About CSS

Mission Statement

Community Support Services: Helping you achieve a healthy mind and body while supporting you to live and work in your community.

Vision Statement

Building communities of hope where mental and physical health are treated equally.

Our Work

Established in 1988, Community Support Services provides healthcare and hope for adults living with severe and persistent mental illnesses in Summit County. Last year, CSS provided life-changing services to more than 3,100 clients.

We embrace the recovery model by partnering with our clients to determine their strengths, needs, abilities and preferences. Recovery is the continuous process of empowering an individual so they may live a satisfying and contributing life.

CSS’s programs are accredited by CARF – an independent, nonprofit accrediting body that promotes quality, valuable services and outcomes of service that enhance the lives of the persons served.

Our Leadership

Board Officers
Karl Henley Chair Executive Vice President, Seibert Keck Insurance
Paul Jackson, Esq. Vice Chair President, Shareholder, Roetzel & Andress
Melissa Dunham Treasurer Senior Manager, Taxation Services, Bober Markey Fedorovich
James Pianalto Secretary Project Manager, The Ruhlin Company
Board Members
Craig Chaffinch Chief Financial Officer, Goodwill Industries of Greater Cleveland
Elizabeth Daugherty Director of Public Safety and Human Resources, City of Barberton
Martin Ganzer Director of Facilities, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
Aaron Kurchev Total Solutions Product Manager - Industrial Markets, GOJO Industries
Henry D. Lykes Jr. Founder/Executive Director, Houses of Hope for Adam and Eve
Megan Minotti Marketing Manager, GOJO Industries, Inc.
John Moulagiannis Owner, Paragram
Staci Nevels Founder, CEO, Journey4Heroes
Jansa Nolze Assistant Finance Director, Akron Metropolitan Housing Authority
Jon Novak VP, Treasury Management, Corporate & Institutional Banking, PNC
Lesley Richard Director, Payer Marketing, Summacare
Christa Smith Supervisor, Payer Credentialing, Summa Health
Shaleeta Smith Community Health Supervisor, Summit County Public Health
Leslie Stoyer Co-Executive Director, NAMI Summit County
Kurt Swanson Rehab Manager, Cleveland Clinic Akron General
Joanna Tucker Account Executive, Kronos, Inc.
Honorary Directors
Karen Hrdlicka, MBA, LHNA Akron Community Foundation
Helen Reedy NAMI Summit County
Norma Thoman Emeritus Director
Executive Council
Robert Stokes President/CEO robert.stokes@cssbh.org
Kendrick Bashor, M.D Primary Care Medical Director kendrick.bashor@cssbh.org
Michael Gaffney, APR Director of Marketing and Development michael.gaffney@cssbh.org
Jon R. Garey, MSCIS Director of Information Technology jon.garey@cssbh.org
Cindy Johnson, R.N. Director of Nursing cindy.johnson@cssbh.org
Kimberly Meals, M.Ed., LPCC-S Director of Quality and Compliance kimberly.meals@cssbh.org
Linda F.R. Omobien, MA, LPCC-S, LSW, LICDC Director of Clinical Services linda.omobien@cssbh.org
Eileen Schwartz, M.D. Medical Director, Psychiatry eileen.schwartz@cssbh.org
Keith Stahl, MSW, LISW Director of Operations and Residential Services keith.stahl@cssbh.org
LoriLee Stein, EMBA Chief Financial Officer lorilee.stein@cssbh.org
Elizabeth Stewart, RHIA, CCS, CRCA, CSPPM Director of Primary Care & Health Integration elizabeth.stewart@cssbh.org
Douglas A. Wagner, MS, SPHR Director of Administration douglas.wagner@cssbh.org

Annual Reports

2020 Annual Report (PDF)

2019 Annual Report (PDF)

2016 Annual Report (PDF)

2015 Annual Report (PDF)

2014 Annual Report (PDF)

2013 Annual Report (PDF)

2012 Annual Report (PDF)

2011 Annual Report (PDF)

2010 Annual Report (PDF)

2009 Annual Report (PDF)

Finances & 990 Forms

990 Form - 2016 (PDF)

990 Form - 2015 (PDF)

990 Form - 2014 (PDF)

990 Form - 2013 (PDF)

990 Form - 2012 (PDF)

990 Form - 2011 (PDF)

Quality Improvement Annual Reports

FY19 Annual Quality Improvement Report